WHAT MOVIE STARS TURNED DOWN FAMOUS ROLES!!!

Though Will Smith has had his fair share of acting in sci-fi thrillers, he turned down the role of Neo in the box office hit “The Matrix.” The actor, who opted to star in the movie flop, “Wild Wild West,” admits he couldn't have pulled off the lead role. <br><br> He says, “You know, 'The Matrix' is a difficult concept to pitch. In the pitch, I just didn’t see it. I watched Keanu’s performance – and very rarely do I say this – but I would have messed it up."

Though Will Smith has had his fair share of acting in sci-fi thrillers, he turned down the role of Neo in the box office hit “The Matrix.” The actor, who opted to star in the movie flop, “Wild Wild West,” admits he couldn’t have pulled off the lead role.

He says, “You know, ‘The Matrix’ is a difficult concept to pitch. In the pitch, I just didn’t see it. I watched Keanu’s performance – and very rarely do I say this – but I would have messed it up.”
Alec Baldwin reportedly turned down the role of Richard Kimball in the movie version of the '60s television hit, "The Fugitive" due to script problems. The role of the wrongfully accused doctor went to Harrison Ford.

Alec Baldwin reportedly turned down the role of Richard Kimball in the movie version of the ’60s television hit, “The Fugitive” due to script problems. The role of the wrongfully accused doctor went to Harrison Ford.

Despite turning down a role in the 2000 remake of "Charlie's Angels," Angelia Jolie went on to play a gun-toting heroine in "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider."  <br><br> Jolie explains, "With 'Charlie's Angels,' I made my decision because: 1. I didn't watch the original TV series and 2. I don't get dressed up. Also, I'm probably not the best group person, so it didn't really suit my personality."

Despite turning down a role in the 2000 remake of “Charlie’s Angels,” Angelia Jolie went on to play a gun-toting heroine in “Lara Croft: Tomb Raider.”

Jolie explains, “With ‘Charlie’s Angels,’ I made my decision because: 1. I didn’t watch the original TV series and 2. I don’t get dressed up. Also, I’m probably not the best group person, so it didn’t really suit my personality.”
Former beauty queen Vanessa Williams had a chance at becoming the first African-American actress to win an Academy Award, however that privilege went to Halle Berry for her portrayal of a struggling single mother in "Monster's Ball." Williams turned down the part, as did Angela Bassett, who was a bit more vocal in her reasons why. <br><br> "I wasn't going to be a prostitute on film," explained Bassett. "I couldn't do that because it's such a stereotype about black women and sexuality."

Former beauty queen Vanessa Williams had a chance at becoming the first African-American actress to win an Academy Award, however that privilege went to Halle Berry for her portrayal of a struggling single mother in “Monster’s Ball.” Williams turned down the part, as did Angela Bassett, who was a bit more vocal in her reasons why.

“I wasn’t going to be a prostitute on film,” explained Bassett. “I couldn’t do that because it’s such a stereotype about black women and sexuality.”

Producers of the James Bond films reportedly first approached Cary Grant to play the role of 007. The actor is said to have declined the role because he didn’t want to be tied to a film series. The role eventually went to Sean Connery, who shot to superstar success with seven Bond films under his belt.

Producers of the James Bond films reportedly first approached Cary Grant to play the role of 007. The actor is said to have declined the role because he didn’t want to be tied to a film series. The role eventually went to Sean Connery, who shot to superstar success with seven Bond films under his belt.

~ by jennylilbit on November 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
